LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Looking for confirmation I’m choosingk the right well lights before purchasing

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Brennan K, Jul 1, 2024.

Share This Page

1. Brennan K

Brennan K New Member

IMG_4315.jpeg IMG_4323.jpeg I’m new to the whole low-voltage world and have been doing some research but want to solidify my decision before purchasing. I would like to do well lights to uplight my columns and am looking at the salty dog MR16 shielded with RGBW bulb 32 degree bulb. My inspiration was the other picture shown but I like the idea of in ground lights to be less noticeable and want the option to change colors to our favorite football teams color on game nights. Any criticism or other recommendations are greatly appreciated. Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member

There’s pros and cons to using either well lights or spot lights. Ultimately, you have to decide which option best suits your needs. One thing to consider is that, depending on the facade of your house, the fixture type and model you choose, and how you customize it, the shadow from the joint where the stone pillars and columns abut will be more or less pronounced. The lip at the base of the columns in the example photo you posted is fairly pronounced. It looks like there is a shallower lip where your columns and stone pillar abut, so you might not have that shadow (or as big of a shadow) when you uplight your columns.