LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Direct burial Transformers - Do's & Don'ts

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by smithmal, May 8, 2023.

Share This Page

1. smithmal

smithmal New Member

Hello! New to the forum but total newb regarding landscape lighting. I haven't seen any threads directly discussing specifics regarding choosing the appropriate direct burial low voltage transformers so I thought I'd start one.

I'm.working on designing the lighting for my house and yard. My yard has a lamp post near the bottom of the driveway. My intent is to remove the lamp post and to splice the existing wiring (120AC;15A) that is already pre-buried in my yard into a direct burial low voltage transformer which I will use to power landscape lighting in my front yard which is about 100' from my house.

I just got my driveway redone and before the new asphalt was poured I had the contractor bury 12 gauge wiring underneath the driveway within a 1/2" PVC pipe that spans the width of my driveway (20'). This will allow me to pull the landscape wiring to what ever length I need and will allow me to install lights on both sides of my driveway.

For lights that will accent my house, I'll install a 2nd transformer.

With that all said, here are some questions I have in regards to choosing the correct direct burial low voltage transformer:
    1. How does one maintain waterproofing for the direct burial boxes that the transformer sits in? Is there a waterproof rating for these like you see for cell phones?
    2. Unlike traditional transformers that are readily accessible with a door, how often should one access a direct burial transformer?
    3. Should I think about it being BT/WiFi accessible so I don't need to open the waterproof box to adjust settings?
    4. Are there any electrical codes I need to worry about that aren't present with traditional low voltage transformers?
    5. What are some mistakes that people make that install direct burial transformers?