LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Design Ideas

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Mike, Jul 10, 2017.

Share This Page

1. Mike

Mike New Member

I am new to landscape lighting and would like some suggestions. I am thinking several lights in the landscape to highlight certain areas as well as provide lighting on the walk from the driveway (left) to the front door. I also think lighting to highlight the columns and maybe portions of the house would be good. The house is a little over 90 feet across. I've included pictures of the house / landscape area. Any suggestions on type of lights, wattage and locations would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Sparrott4

Sparrott4 Guest

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your message. Here are some suggestions.

Columns: One All-Star Spotlight for each column (stake mounted). Use 5W, 2700K, 12º LED bulb. Position the light as close to each column as possible. Do not center the spotlights on the columns, instead, for the first two columns (from left to right), position the spotlights about 6" to the left. For the last two columns, do the opposite - position the lights about 6" to the right. Aiming these lights is critical. Tilt them back so the hot spot on the column spreads from bottom to top.

House Facade: Position one All-Star Spotlight between each window set (on the two-story section) an additional spotlight to the left and right of the entrance, and an additional spotlight halfway between the corners and windows of this section. Use 5W, 2700K, 38º LED bulbs. Use the same placement strategy on the left-side one-story structure except use 60º LED bulbs instead of the 38º bulbs.

Pathway to Entrance:
    I like your positioning of the existing path lights, but would suggest (of course) that you replace them with VOLT Max Spreads or other path light of your choice.