LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Wiring help

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Rlucas2125, Jul 14, 2019.

Share This Page

1. Rlucas2125

Rlucas2125 New Member

Hi, Newbie here. I need some guidance with wiring my lights. I have 2 of the starter kits from Costco, https://www.costco.com/VOLT-Landscape-Lighting-9-piece-Path-%26-Area-Light-Brass-LED-Starter-Kit.product.100367623.html. and I have purchased extra spot lights.
    So now I have:
    22 5w spot lights
    4 3w path lights
    2 150 watt transformers
    14g wire
    6 hubs

My questions are: Where to place the hubs? Do I need larger gauge wire? Will the (2) 150w transformers be enough? See pics and diagram.

Thank you in advance for your help!!

Randy

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 14, 2019
    Mesodude likes this.
  2. Mesodude

Mesodude Member

Welcome and great diagram, Randy. The total bulb wattage per kit is 39W. It looks like you’re only using 4 of your 6 included path lights. Regardless, as long as you don’t exceed the recommended 80% load limit (120W, by my math) on either transformer, you should have no problems. I’m planning my own 20 light system and am also seeking wiring layout advice. Meantime, you might find the following article helpful: https://www.voltlighting.com/articl...er-instructions/p/article-outdoor-transformer

Evan K likes this.
  3. Rlucas2125

Rlucas2125 New Member

Thank you Mesodude!

Mesodude likes this.
  4. Evan K

Evan K Community Admin Staff Member