LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Suggestions for front of house design

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by BryanK, Mar 23, 2021.

Share This Page

1. BryanK

BryanK New Member

I was hoping for some suggestions for lighting the front of our home. The front yard area is pretty narrow because our wedge-shaped lot is at the end of a cul-de-sac.

My thoughts are as follows:

The stone facade on either side of the window behind the large tree.
    The Saguaro cactus
    The large tree
    The tall narrow cacti to the right of the large tree
    Maybe a downlight from the large tree shining down on the funky looking cactus in the foreground between the reddish bush and the large tree.

I've gone back and forth on whether to put path lights along the driveway, but have been most recently thinking they might take away from the focal point of the landscaping in the front i'd like to highlight.

I'm just getting started, so any suggestions about appropriate fixtures, etc is greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance!

Bryan

Attached Files:

Evan K and Mesodude2 like this.
  2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member

Love your house and your design sense, Bryan K. Your plan sounds fine and I would just offer a handful of mostly general recommendations. With a modestly sized front yard like yours (I have a smallish front yard as well), it can be easy to over light your landscape, imo. You have a lot of light colored surfaces that will reflect a fair amount of light. It's for that reason and because you have a shallow yard, I would go with fairly light lumen lamps (a couple hundred or so at the most) in your fixtures. Good idea to graze the stone facade and show off that rough texture. I would also gently light the boulders at the base of the large tree. Frankly, lighting the facade, those boulders, the large tree and the saguaro and letting the reflected light tell the rest of the story (so to speak) might be all you need.