LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Lighting Design and Wire Run Advice

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Jake Fenske, May 1, 2020.

Share This Page

1. Jake Fenske

Jake Fenske New Member

Hi All:

I'll start by saying, I'm new to landscape lighting, but I'm pretty handy and capable of taking on the job. But since I've never done this before, I wanted to get some advice and answers to some questions.

Attached is a landscape plan, where I've added fixtures, hubs, and wire-runs. Here's where I could use some advice:

1) I would like to use a clamp-connect transformer. And since the 300w version is limited to five wires, I can't exceed five runs in my project. Is it "okay" to do a couple of t-junctions to separate hubs? I won't daisy chain the hubs together, but want to make a t-junction from a single run to power two different hubs.

2) When using hubs, is it imperative to keep all the lengths to each fixture the same length? Some of these fixtures could wind up with LOTS of coiled up wire. I'd prefer to avoid that if I can -- otherwise I'll just be burying extra wire in the ground.

3) Any thoughts on wire gage? Some of these runs to the transformer are kind of long, and I want avoid going under as few sidewalks as possible. I also need to avoid going through the lawn to avoid sprinkler systems.

Thanks all for the advice and feedback. If you have ideas on how to optimize or make this easier, I'd welcome that as well!

-Jake full-lighting-design.png

Neil, Evan K and Mesodude2 like this.
  2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member