LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Illuminating second story of house. Advice needed.

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by alanh, Mar 2, 2022.

Share This Page

1. alanh

alanh New Member

Hello. I am planning on expanding my landscape lighting up to the second floor. The lead wire runs along the left side of the house. I plan to go up along the drain pipe leading to the left side lower roof and lay the wire along the length of the gutter. Then to continue it along the garage gutter. I will then bring the wire down along the drain pipe on the side of the garage and into a side planter area with 5 palm trees. I was thinking of 4 gutter mounts (two for the main house area and two for the top of the garage area). Would love some advice on this project ie: what type of lights, which area to illuminate, strength of LEDs, types of mounts etc. I have already lit my garden areas front and back so I have some experience. Never did any gutter mounting, however. Also, when the wire comes down from the garage I intend to use it to light the 5 small palm trees seen on the side planter picture. Any advice on this also is appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Evan K

Evan K Community Admin Staff Member

Hey alan,

Beautiful home; I'd be happy to help with some recommendations!

Overall, I think you are on the right track with the gutter mounted lights. To help keep the light sources concealed as best as possible and not overpower the 2nd story area, I'd recommend Mini LED Spotlights. I always prefer to recommend lamp-ready models (uses a bulb), and also prefer more subtle illumination, so I'd likely consider the Spark Mini Spotlight.