LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Front yard help

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Foxtrotbravo, Mar 12, 2021.

Share This Page

1. Foxtrotbravo

Foxtrotbravo New Member

Hello, I’ve been learning a lot reading through the forum. Kinda stoked there are so many gurus around to lend an ear!

My wife and I are doing some major additions to the back yard so I wanted to class up the front too. Been thinking about the All Star mini (or all star) but could use some help with placement, bulb wattage, and beam angles. I was thinking of uplighting at the posts, a couple spots lighting the garden, and maybe a bigger spot pointing up on the gable. We will be redoing the garden area with some non-builder plants. I don’t have a better pic on hand but there’s not much more to the front yard lol. Most of our lot is in the back.

I’d welcome any thoughts on where to begin as I’ve never done lighting before, but I can handle the implementation if I get some direction. We’re going for more of a subtle set up, but still something that will class it up a notch. TIA!​

AC584FF5-8586-409B-A40A-4C4EE24FED25.jpeg

2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member

Hi Foxtrotbravo. You have a charming home and I agree that you can enhance that charm by lighting it in an understated way. I diagrammed your photo to suggest one possible approach. With most of your facade “landlocked” (with asphalt or concrete meeting the foundation), I suspect your biggest challenge will be figuring out the best way to route and conceal your wiring for house mounted fixtures.