LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Another Lighting Design Help Request

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by bsnrocks, May 13, 2021.

Share This Page

1. bsnrocks

bsnrocks New Member

Hi All--

I'm new to Volt and to this forum and I recently undertook the grand task of upgrading my landscape lighting.

As you'll see in the photos, I installed a few uplights on the house and a tree as well as staggered path lights along the sidewalk. The spots are Top Dogs and the paths are Max Spreads. I know the photos look extra bright (to the point of overlighting) but it's just my camera adjusting the photo. The spots are throwing 5w and the paths are 3w, both are at 2700K.

Aside from needing to make some adjustments to the spots, I'm having trouble with two dark areas: the front door and the garage. Again, these sections look a lot lighter than they really are due to my camera adjusting for the lack of lighting. They really are quite dark.

1. Front Door - The front door is the priority. As there is a very small, narrow porch in front of the door, I cannot use ground-mounted spots. I don't mind attaching spots to the wooden railings, but I was wondering if a single low-powered flood or wash light mounted in the right place could handle the lighting for the whole section (as opposed to mounting two spots). Open to any other suggestions, too (including changes to my current configuration)! Also, do you guys think I should install a few step lights on alternating stairs? Once the porch is lighted there might be enough ambient light for them to not be necessary...

2. Garage - It's not absolutely necessary to light the garage, I'm ok with it being dark and just excluding it from the lighting plan. However, this forum produces amazing ideas so I thought I'd throw it out there.

Thank you in advance!

Brock

Daylight - Front (Far).jpg Night 1.jpg Night Porch.jpg Night Garage.jpg

Mesodude2 likes this.
  2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member