LANDSCAPE LIGHTING WORLD® FORUMS

Advice for Backyard Lighting

Discussion in 'Ask the Landscape Lighting Experts' started by Ezaction, Mar 15, 2021.

Share This Page

1. Ezaction

Ezaction New Member

Hello, I am just starting out designing a lighting plan for my backyard. I have two areas that I would like to light. The first one is a side area with a planter area that sits 2 feet out and about 30 feet long. I was thinking of using 3 of the Gentle Splash floodlights here and a spotlight on the avocado tree at the end. The next area is a slope that runs about 70 feet long and 7.5 feet from the retaining wall to the vinyl fence. Should I continue to use the Gentle Splash floodlights here and place them at the base of the retaining wall directed up to the fence? How many lights do you think would be needed here? I was thinking about 5.
    0 IMG_3608.jpg IMG_3605.jpg

Mesodude2 likes this.
  2. Mesodude2

Mesodude2 Well-Known Member

Hi, Ezaction. The right number of lights is the number of lights that creates the mood and/or security you want. Seriously, rather than think in terms of a specific number of fixtures, I think you should be guided by how you’ll be using the yard and/or what kind of mood you want to create. Is this a yard where kids will be playing at night where safety is paramount? Or maybe you want a yard that’s more subtly lit where you can entertain at night? Maybe you want a flexible lighting scheme that allows you to do both. You’ve got a bright white fence that I suspect has some sheen to it. With a surface that light (which reflects light easily), you might find that you need fewer lights than you think.